James J.'s review of My Gold Envelope

My Gold Envelope

Preferred Members
Monex Deposit Company
4.2 star rating 0 miles
Lear Capital, Inc.
4.5 star rating 0 miles Hot Deals
South Bay Gold
4.5 star rating 0 miles
United Rare Coins & Precious Metals, LLC
4.7 star rating 0 miles
         
Customer Reviews & Ratings
Complaint Posted 12/3/2010
. 1
. 0
Review 12/3/2010
Contacted My Gold Envelope via their website and requested a gold submission kit around the beginning of September 2010.

Received the submission kit and sent several items of gold including an 18K gold men’s bracelet which had an estimated weight of over 1ounce and a 22 inch 14K gold chain in amongst the items.

Received an email from My Gold Envelope on September 24th stating my submission was worthless and had no value. I immediately called My Gold Envelope to find out what happened and they claimed that the email was sent to me in error and a check was on the way.

Received a check in the amount of $110.95 on October 15th, 2010. The letter accompanying the check informed me that I had 10 days from the issuance date of the check (10/08/2010) to send back the check or it would be assumed that I accept their offer and they would process the gold that I had submitted. October 15th being a Friday and only having until Monday October 18th to send their check back I then called My Gold envelope to inform them that I would not accept this payment and to return my Gold. The My Gold Envelope representative then asked if they could offer more money and we agreed to an additional $171.50. They agreed to send an additional check and I informed them at that time not to process my gold until I received their 2nd check and they also agreed.

Called My Gold Envelope on 11/03/2010 and asked where the 2nd check was and their rep said it was sent but can take up to 30 days to get the check so I again informed them that they were not to processed my gold because I had not received their check as of yet. The rep informed me that they indeed had processed my gold at that time. The rep claimed a check was sent to at that time.

I emailed My Gold Envelope on 11/10/2010 explaining what had happened and for someone to get back to me with an answer. No return call or email was ever received.

I then called again on 11/12/2010 and spoke to Traci (supervisor). I explained everything to her and she said she would call me back to find out what had happened. She did inform me while on the phone with her that no check had been sent to me as of yet. I questioned Traci as to why I was lied to previously by stating the 2nd check had been sent and she had no response to that question. Traci never returned my call.

I then called Traci again on 11/19/2010 and asked what the status was on the additional check and why didn’t she call me back as promised. She had no answer for me and said she would contact corporate to see what she could find out. She did call me back that afternoon and said that they would overnight the check to me.

Called again on 12/01/2010 and spoke with Traci again and informed her that I have yet to receive the check and it is now 11 days since they promised to overnight the check to me. She again had no answers and claimed she would call be back after contacting corporate.

Traci did not call me back again so I continued to call and she just dances me around the dance floor not giving me any reason as to why I am not getting paid. I called everyday from 11/29/2010 through 12/3/2010 speaking with Traci who continues to say she has contacted corporate and has not heard back regarding my payment.


It would seem that the tactics that My Gold Envelope engages in are bordering on criminal activity. They send minimal offers and don’t give you enough time to respond, process your gold and hope you go away accepting the rip off. When you question them they simply promise anything and never deliver. I still have not gotten paid even 4 months later. I did some research online and found hundreds of the same types of stories regarding the My Gold Envelope rip off and I find it amazing that the US government has not prosecuted this business under Federal mail fraud charges (since they use the USPS to collect gold and send payments). Something needs to be done as people shouldn’t be prayed upon by this company. I consider this theft of goods with the use of the USPS. I also believe that each state that they operate in should get their Attorney General’s office involved to put a stop to this scam.

I will be contacting all of the above to try to get the ball rolling and I would hope everyone else will do the same. You can search your Attorney General’s office by state just by Googling the same. You can also contact your Postmaster regarding mail fraud as well. Get Involved and help put a stop to these crooks!
 
 
 
Was this review helpful? (7)
Send Message to Reviewer
Report abuse
 
Additional Business Information
Hours   Phone   (954) 527-8750 Address   330 SW 2nd St., Suite 209
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
Website   http://www.mygoldenvelope.com Email   michaelpetermoran@gmail.com
Contact   Mike Moran Other  
 
 
 
© Copyright 2017 TrustLink All Rights Reserved.